This article is based on an article from the Japanese edition of Engadget and was created using the translation tool Deepl.
After several years of development and testing, Google has finally released the feature of sharing with nearby users for Android devices.
Nearby Share is the equivalent of AirDrop on the iPhone or Mac. You can send files and photos directly to other Android and Chrome OS devices without an internet connection.
It will be available on Android 6.0 and later, starting August 4 on the Pixel and some Galaxy smartphones, and Google plans to work with Android phone makers to gradually increase the number of devices that can use the feature.
How to use Nearby Share
How to send
To use, open a photo or web page in each app, or select an item and tap the standard "Share" button.
If Nearby Share is enabled and there are users nearby who can be sent to you, simply tap the Share button and a list of people you can share the message with will be displayed. Tap the person you want to send a message to, and when they accept it, you can start sending it.
How to receive
Open the notification to see who you're dealing with, then tap "Accept" to receive it.
If people around you are sharing files with others, you can make your device available to them or turn Nearby Shar on in the notification.
How to enable Nearby Share
To enable Nearby Share, you must first turn on location and Bluetooth, and then
From the Settings app, tap Google > Device Connections > Nearby Share > Turn on.
If the item does not appear, it is not yet available.
Just like AirDrop, you can choose whether to be visible to others on your device, and when and to whom you want to be visible.
You can choose three options by going to Settings app, Google > Device Connections > Nearby Share > Device visibility.
All contacts: You can make your device accessible to all of your contacts.
Some contacts: You can turn on/off each person in settings. For people you communicate with frequently.
Hidden: Normally, your phone is not visible to anyone, but only when you open the Nearby Share screen. If you don't want to use it at all, turn off the function itself.
Nearby Share will also be available to and from Chromebooks in the coming months.
This article is based on an article from the Japanese edition of Engadget and was created using the translation tool Deepl. The Japanese edition of Engadget does not guarantee the accuracy or reliability of this article.