This article is based on an article from the Japanese edition of Engadget and was created using the translation tool Deepl.
Twitter has been testing various experimental features with some users. One of those features, "You can control who can reply to you," has been officially announced and is now available.
The feature is now available on the official app for iOS and Android and on the web (twitter.com). From now on, everyone can use this feature so unwanted replies don’t get in the way of meaningful conversations.
With this update, users can pre-restrict who can reply to them before sending a new tweet. The standard setting is "everyone", but users can also choose "people you follow" or "only people you mention". If you choose the third of these, no one will be able to reply to you effectively if you haven't sent an @ to anyone in your tweet.
Tweets with the latter two settings will be labeled and the reply icon will be grayed out for people who can’t reply. However, people who can’t reply will still be able to view, Retweet, Retweet with Comment, share, and like these tweets.
This feature has been in testing since May. The feedback showed that it made tweets more comfortable and protected them from spam and harassment, with data showing that it stopped an average of three offensive replies.
While there is some concern that banning replies will block criticism of tweets that contain false or racist language and actions, the official blog says that people "more frequently look for additional commentary" and "the new Retweets with Comments timeline is visited 4x more often" when replies are limited. And "more Likes and views on a Retweet with Comment than on the original Tweet," which seems to suggest that the criticism from the official RT quote is being seen by many people.
This article is based on an article from the Japanese edition of Engadget and was created using the translation tool Deepl. The Japanese edition of Engadget does not guarantee the accuracy or reliability of this article.